成立典礼

关于我们 . 我们的历史 . 成立典礼

 

 

*Jeff * Lehman (middle front), Stuart Cable (second from right), Matthew Kerfoot (center back), Leifan Wang (second from right), Jeff Zhang (fourth from right) and some CBLA directors

2009年4月9日,本协会在高赢律师事务所(Goodwin Procter,LLP) 位于纽约时代大厦的办公室举行了开幕式。当日,来自于纽约大学法学院的Bill Allen教授为本协会作了开场致辞,此外,由杰出法律从业人员组成的专家讨论小组与观众们分享了他们对于法律、商业、职业以及中国的观点。专家座谈小组的成员有Stuart Cable(高赢律师事务所合伙人),Joyce Xu(盛信律师事务所资深顾问)以及Matthew Kerfoot(美国汇丰副总裁)。

开幕式共有122人出席,人数大大超出预期,其中有81位有美国执业资格的律师。有68位律师当场注册为本协会的会员。这些成员来毕业于20余所不同的法学院,涵盖了北美排名前15的高等法律学府中的14所法学院,他们供职于约40家律师事务所,包括全美排名前10的律所中的9个律所。

一部分来自于投行、商业银行、私募基金、对冲基金、评估机构、政府部门及高等学府的非律师专业人士,亦应本协会董事之邀参加了开幕式。一些纽约地区法学院学生代表也参加了开幕式。

Jeff Lehman先生作为协会的特殊嘉宾参加了本会开幕式的招待会。Lehman先生曾任密西根法学院的院长,在其任期内,雷曼先生成功辩护了法学院对录取弱势群体的照顾政策。之后,Lehman出任了康奈尔大学的校长。自2007年至今,Lehman先生是北京大学位于深圳的国际法学院的创院校长。该学院为中国第一个美式法学院,采用为JD学生设计的课程以及苏格拉底问答式教学方法授课。

Inauguration

About Us . Our History . Inauguration

 

*Jeff * Lehman (middle front), Stuart Cable (second from right), Matthew Kerfoot (center back), Leifan Wang (second from right), Jeff Zhang (fourth from right) and some CBLA directors

CBLA's opening ceremony was held on the evening of April 9, 2009 at the offices of Goodwin Procter in the New York Times Building. At the event, Professor Bill Allen from New York University School of Law gave the opening remarks, and a panel of leading legal practitioners shared with audience their perspectives on law, business, career and China. The panel consisted of Stuart Cable (Partner, Goodwin Procter), Joyce Xu (Senior Counsel, Simpson Thacher & Bartlett) and Matthew Kerfoot (Senior Vice President, HSBC USA).

The inauguration was significantly oversubscribed with a total of 122 attendees, including 81 U.S.-qualified lawyers. Of those lawyers, 68 registered as members of the CBLA on the spot. These members obtained their law degrees from 20 U.S. law schools, including 14 of the top 15 USNEWS ranked law schools, and are from approximately 40 law firms including 9 of the top Vault-ranked 10 law firms.

At the directors' special invitation, a select group of non-lawyer professionals, from investment and commercial banks, private equity funds, hedge funds, rating agencies, government and academia, also attended the opening ceremony. Certain representatives of law students from the NYC-area law schools attended as well.

A distinguished guest, Jeff Lehman, attended the reception of the CBLA opening ceremony. Mr. Lehman was the dean of Michigan Law School, where he successfully defended the law school's affirmative action admission policies, and then president of Cornell University. Since 2007, Mr. Lehman has served as chancellor and founding dean of the Peking University School of Transnational Law located in Shenzhen. It is China's first American-style law school, where courses are taught in English using the Socratic method with a curriculum designed for a J.D. degree.